"A restart for Europe": VDMA position paper for a resilient Europe after the Corona crisis

shutterstock_1246696918

The outbreak of the corona pandemic has also affected the mechanical engineering industry. In the new 5-point plan, VDMA summarises its main demands for a solid, stable and secure European future.

The economic environment is characterised by extreme uncertainty: on the demand side, on the supply side and in the social environment. Politics must do everything possible to contribute to stabilization. Disturbing fires and burdens must be avoided as far as possible. At the same time, however, it is also important to stay on course and not to lose sight of the completion of the internal market, the core objectives of the Green Deal and digitisation.
However, Europe is not only required to provide a reliable political framework and strategic orientation, but must also prove itself as a community. Nation states alone cannot achieve what is necessary now.

VDMA is therefore calling for the corona crisis to be countered with a European initiative for solidarity, stability and future security. Restoring the EU internal market, putting an end to the discussions about systemic relevance or putting burdensome planned measures to the test are some of VDMA's core demands during and after the corona crisis.

Find out here more about VDMA´s recommendations for a new start for Europe (see below).

 

Downloads

"Ein Neustart für Europa": VDMA Positionspapier für ein resilientes Europa nach der Corona-Krise

shutterstock_1246696918

Der Ausbruch der Corona-Pandemie hat auch den Maschinenbau getroffen. In dem neuen 5-Punkte-Plan fasst der VDMA seine wesentlichen Forderungen für eine solidarische, stabile und sichere europäische Zukunft zusammen.

Das wirtschaftliche Umfeld ist von extremer Unsicherheit geprägt: Auf der Nachfrageseite, auf der Angebotsseite und im gesellschaftlichen Umfeld. Politik muss alles tun, um zu einer Stabilisierung beizutragen. Störfeuer und Belastungen müssen so weit wie möglich vermieden werden. Gleichzeitig gilt es aber auch, Kurs zu halten und die Vollendung des Binnenmarkts, die Kernziele des Green Deal und die Digitalisierung nicht aus den Augen zu verlieren.
Europa ist aber nicht nur als ein verlässlicher politischer Rahmen und als strategische Orientierung gefordert, sondern muss sich auch als Gemeinschaft bewähren. Was jetzt notwendig ist, können Nationalstaaten allein nicht leisten.

Der VDMA fordert daher, der Corona-Krise mit einer europäischen Initiative für Solidarität, Stabilität und Zukunftssicherung zu begegnen. Den EU-Binnenmarkt wiederherstellen, die Diskussionen um Systemrelevanz beenden oder belastende geplante Maßnahmen auf den Prüfstand stellen, sind dabei einige der Kernforderungen des VDMA während und nach der Corona-Krise.

Lesen Sie im aktuellen Positionspapier (siehe unten unter Downloads), welche Bausteine es noch für den Neustart für Europa braucht.

 

Downloads