Uniform legal EU instrument for subsidies from third countries necessary

shutterstock_659733349

VDMA is in favour of the EU Commission taking a closer look at subsidies from third countries, because these subsidies distort production costs in the machinery sector and influence competition in the EU internal Market.

VDMA, therefore, calls for a uniform legal EU-instrument without different modules, such as proposed in a report from July 2020 by the Monopolies Commission in Germany. Such an instrument would ensure that subsidies from third countries and aid from EU Member States are put on an equal footing. Moreover, the EU Commission should be solely responsible for its enforcement.

Moreover, the new uniform instrument should not conflict with already existing EU instruments (e.g. the Regulation establishing a framework for the screening of foreign direct investment in the EU). VDMA is also against ex officio investigations. Other important demands of VDMA are that efforts to combat illegal state subsidies should primarily be made at WTO level. The problem of subsidies from third countries should also be addressed via EU trade and investment agreements, such as an investment agreement with China.

The background is formed by planned proposals for regulations, which the EU-Commission has planned for Q2 2021. The aim is to eliminate distortions caused by foreign subsidies in the internal Market in general and in specific cases of takeovers and public procurement. For this reason, the EU-Commission has launched a now closed public consultation and an inception impact assessment. In this inception impact assessment, the EU-Commission analyses the problem, sets political goals and works out different solutions and their potential effects. VDMA, therefore, submitted a response to the inception impact assessment on subsidies in October 2020.

Further information:

VDMA Position paper: Subsidies from third countries, attached as PDF

Downloads

Einheitliches EU-Rechtsinstrument für Subventionen aus Drittstaaten nötig

shutterstock_659733349

Der VDMA spricht sich dafür aus, dass die EU-Kommission Subventionen aus Drittstaaten unter die Lupe nimmt, weil diese Subventionen die Produktionskosten im Maschinensektor verzerren und den Wettbewerb im EU-Binnenmarkt beeinflussen.

Der VDMA fordert deswegen ein einheitliches EU-Rechtsinstrument ohne Teilinstrumente, wie es in einem Bericht der Monopolkommission vom Juli 2020 vorgeschlagen wird. Ein solches Instrument würde dafür sorgen, dass Subventionen von Drittländern und Beihilfen der EU-Mitgliedstaaten gleichgestellt werden. Darüber hinaus sollte die EU-Kommission allein für ihre Durchsetzung verantwortlich sein.

Außerdem soll das neue einheitliche Instrument nicht mit bereits bestehenden EU-Instrumenten (z.B. der Verordnung zur Schaffung eines Rahmens für die Überprüfung ausländischer Direktinvestitionen in der EU) kollidieren. Auch ist der VDMA gegen Untersuchungen von Amts wegen. Weitere wichtige Forderungen des VDMA sind, dass die Bemühungen zur Bekämpfung illegaler staatlicher Subventionen in erster Linie auf WTO-Ebene erfolgen sollten. Das Problem der Subventionen von Drittländern soll auch über Handels- und Investitionsabkommen der EU, wie z.B. ein Investitionsabkommen mit China, angegangen werden.

Hintergrund sind geplante Verordnungsvorschläge, welche die EU-Kommission für Q2 2021 vorgesehen hat. Ziel ist Verzerrungen durch ausländische Subventionen im Binnenmarkt im Allgemeinen und in spezifischen Fällen von Übernahmen und öffentlichen Aufträgen zu eliminieren. Deshalb hat die EU-Kommission eine inzwischen abgeschlossene öffentliche Konsultation und eine Folgenabschätzung in der Anfangsphase eingeleitet. Die EU-Kommission analysiert in dieser Folgenabschätzung das Problem, setzt politische Ziele und arbeitet verschiedene Lösungen und ihre potenziellen Auswirkungen heraus. Der VDMA legte daher im Oktober 2020 eine Antwort auf die Folgenabschätzung zu Subventionen vor.

Weiterführende Informationen:

VDMA Positionspapier: Subventionen aus Drittländern im Anhang als PDF

Downloads